SHE LOVED A MONSTER

By Edem,

Prologue

“Hey, Icarus! Can I have a word with you?”, came her voice directly from behind me. I froze in my track, contemplating on whether to hear her out or just walk away. I really didn’t have time for that because I had other obligations but slowly my body moved on its own before I could make up my mind. I turned to face her involuntarily.

She wore that smile- the smile that always got on my nerves.

Her emerald eyes rested on me, not even making an attempt to avoid eye contact. My body suddenly became stiff as I broke into sweat. But I still held her gaze. Communication, as I know it, was always true and pure when the sender and receiver kept eye contact. So I looked down into her eyes and she looked back up into mine. The more I looked into her eyes, the more I was drawn to her; to her really striking features.

She still wore that smile without flinching even for a second. Those red lips stretched delicately to either side of her cheeks, revealing her sparkly white teeth. The contrast between the color of her lips and her teeth made it even more appealing.
Suddenly, my tie felt tighter than usual. So I reached for it and the loosened it a bit. I was done with work for the day anyways. After that, I cleared my throat and then spoke. My voice had never sounded hoarse than it did that day.

“What can I do for you, Miss Wright?”, I asked.

“You can call me, Iris. I would love that, if you did”, she said as she took a step forward. She had no sense of private space. Looking up at me, her smile was broader than it was.

“I really dont have time for this, you know? So please, hurry it up! “, I said to rush things forward.
Suddenly, her smile changed into something else I couldn’t read. Iris started playing with the ring on her little finger. Looking down a lot, she avoided eye contact and her body language was fidgety. She bit her lips, as if in thought and then she spoke.

“Will you have dinner with me? Tonight?”, she asked.

………………………………

Chapter one , will be uploaded, next

Monday.

#Erdhem’sWork

#K.A.D

#Change is now

7 thoughts on “SHE LOVED A MONSTER

Leave a comment